Facebook Snooze Button Rolling Out, Lets You Temporarily Unfollow a Person

Facebook, the world’s biggest social media platform, has a new feature to help its users get rid of posts they don’t wish to see on their News Feed without the need of unfriending people, unfollowing pages, or leaving groups. The Snooze button, available alongside the Unfollow button, will let you pause updates for up to 30 days.

Facebook had started testing out this new feature in September this year, and made the official announcement on Friday. The company claims that the Snooze feature will give users the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page, or group for 30 days. The Snooze button can be found from the top-right drop-down menu of a post.



“With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not create notifications or posts in your News. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time,” said Shruthi Muraleedharan, Product Manager – Facebook in a blog post.

Facebook already features options like Unfollow, Hide, Report, and See First for managing content that you view from different sources on the platform. Snooze essentially gives users a 30-day window to rethink their decision that becomes permanent with the Unfollow option.

A former Facebook executive had recently talked about the negative effects of social media and mentioned how he uses Facebook as little as possible. Facebook, in a corporate blog post, had rebuttedby mentioning that social media can be good for people’s well-being if they use the technology in a way that is active.

Source: Gadgets360

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *