DVLA To Issue ‘Luxury Vehicle License’ Sticker In Jan 2019

The Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority (DVLA) is set to release specialised stickers for the Luxury Vehicle Levy (LVL) in January 2019.

A Deputy Minister of Information, Mr Pius Enam Hadzide who made this known at a press briefing in Accra on Sunday December 16, 2018 said the move was to enable an easy identification of vehicles that have complied with the law.

Following the passage of the law imposing an annual tax on vehicles with high capacity engines dubbed “Luxury Vehicle Levy,” which started August 1, 2018, the DVLA has been collecting a levy ranging from GHȻ1,000 to GHȻ2,000 on behalf of the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA)
No. Engine Capacity (CC) Levy (GH¢)
1. 2950cc – 3549cc GH¢1,000
2. 3550cc – 4049cc GH¢1,500
3. 3 Above 4049cc GH¢2,000

This followed parliament’s approval of the tax proposed by the Finance Minister when he delivered the 2018 mid-year review budget.

The levy is to be paid on the registration of vehicles and subsequently on or before the annual renewal of the roadworthy certificate of such vehicles, with engine capacities listed above.”

The tax also affects vehicles of the listed capacities existing prior to the passage of the law.

At the press briefing Sunday afternoon, Mr Pius Hadzide said DVLA will begin issuing the specialised stickers for the Luxury Vehicle Levy (LVL) beginning January 2019 for easy identification of vehicles that have complied.

“As you may be aware the implementation of the LVL law is already in full force after Parliament passed the bill this year to impose an annual levy on vehicles with high engine capacities.”

“Let me indicate that it is an offence for anybody to change or replace the engine in an attempt to outwit DVLA and officials of the Customs Division of the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA),” he added.
Description of LVL Stickers.

The LVL stickers are of the same shape and size like the normal roadworthy stickers except that they are printed in three different colours with additional printed “LVL,” information according to the three designations LVL1, LVL2, and LVL3 which are to be issued according to the category of vehicles that pay the levy, the Deputy Minister said.

Exemption from Levy
He explained the following motor vehicles are exempt from the Levy:
(a) Tractors;
(b) Ambulances;
(c) Commercial vehicles that have the capacity to transport more than ten persons;
(d) Commercial vehicles for the transport of goods; and
(e) Other motor vehicles that the Minister may by legislative instrument exempt.

Business Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *