Mrs Jean Mensa named as the new EC chairperson

President Akufo-Addo has nominated Mrs. Jean Adukwei Mensa as the new Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC) as well as two other deputy Chairpersons and a Member of the Electoral Commission.

Full statement below:

Profile About Mrs. Jean Mensa

Mrs. Jean Mensa is the Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA), Ghana’s premier public policy institute and Coordinator of the Ghana Political Parties Programme. She is a lawyer by profession and a leader of thought in Ghana on governance and democratic issues.

Mrs. Jean Adukwei Mensa

Mrs. Mensa has carved a niche for herself in the field of policy research and advocacy as well as in the development of policy alternatives including the Presidential Transition Act of 2012; the Revised 1992 Constitution of Ghana (draft); the Political Parties Funding Bill and the Revised Political Parties Bill. Mrs. Mensa was a tireless advocate for the review of Ghana’s 1992 Constitution and served as a Commissioner of the Government-established Constitution Review Commission. She is currently a member of the Government Committee tasked with preparing the Affirmative Action Bill.

Kojo Ennimil Arthur||Ghana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *